Like many websites we use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can disable cookies in your browser settings. By using this website we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the Simon R. Green website.

Simon R Green

Best-Selling SciFi & Fantasy

Simon was born in Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire, England (where he still resides), in 1955. He has obtained an M.A. in Modern English and American Literature from Leicester University and he also studied history and has a combined Humanities degree. His writing career started in 1973, when he was a student in London. His first actual sale was a story titled Manslayer, back in 1976, but it didn’t appear till much later; Awake, Awake…. was his first sale to a professional editor, in 1979. Furthermore he sold some six or seven stories to semi-pro magazines before that market disappeared practically overnight.

After years of publishers’ rejection letters, he sold an incredible seven novels in 1988, just two days after he started working at Bilbo’s bookshop in Bath (this after three and a half years of being unemployed!). This was followed in 1989 by two more, and a commission to write the bestselling novelization of the Kevin Costner film Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves, which has sold more than 370.000 copies.


If the Nightside was me doing private eye novels, then Secret Histories is me paying tribute to the James Bond novels, which I actually read before I was old enough to get into the cinema to see the films. So get ready for Shaman Bond, the very secret agent...

Read more >>>


The Empire that spanned lightyears, is now rotten to the core and its half-mad empress rules with a fist of iron. The main thrust of the stories of the Empire concern Owen Deathstalker and his attempt to rebel against the Empire.

Read more >>>


I operate as a private eye, in a world where gods and monsters are real. The Nightside: the sick, secret magical heart of London. A place where dreams come true, whether you want them to or not. It's not easy to find a way in, and it can be even harder to find a way out.

Read more >>>

This all eventually led to the bestselling SF/Space Opera series: The Deathstalker Saga. A series of eight books, of which he himself admits that it kind of got out of hand, since it was supposed to be three 500-page books.......

At the end of 2000 we were finally able to read his long awaited return to Fantasy with the sequel to Blue Moon Rising: Beyond the Blue Moon. His next book was Drinking Midnight Wine. It's an urban fantasy and can be described as "light and charming mad magical". Simon is currently (as of Jan 2012) working on the third and final Bluemoon book which should be published sometime in 2013. The Nightside is now on it's twelfth book (out of twelve) and the newest series The 'Ghost Finders' has the first two books published with the third being worked on.