It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:45 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: New to the Series/Audiobooks
PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 10:19 pm 

So, I'm new to this series, in fact, I just started Takes from the Nightside about an hour ago.

Let me explain a bit.

I run an audiobook blog, and am a cofounder of The Armchair Audies event. What we do is when the Audie awards (basically the Oscars/Grammy's of Audiobooks) nominations are announced, a bunch of bloggers choose categories, listen to all the books in the categories and review and make predictions. I always take the Speculative Fiction categories, Fantasy, Science Fiction and Paranormal. This categories has 16 nominees, of which I have already listened to 6, which means I have to listen to the other 10 before the last week of May. Since I listen to three to firve audiobooks a week depending on size, this isn't too difficult.

This year, The Bride Wears Black Leather was nominated. I have been aware of Simon R. Green for a while, but have yet to read or listen to any of his work. So, to adequately evaluate The Bride Wears Black Leather, I know I am going to have to listen to some of the back list. Yet, I'm not sure I can actually afford or find time to listen to all 11, while still listening to the other nominees. I can sneak one or two in print as well.

So my question is, is there a essential list of the series, ones I absolutely must listen to, while others I can put on hold to later? I know this is problematic with any ongoing series, but I don't want to just randomly choose, and I'd rather not read too may reviews of the series to avoid spoilers.

Any help will be appreciated. I probably won't review each title separately, but I will do an overall series review, as well as a review for the final novel. Also, I may drop in from time to time to give my thoughts along the way. So hi!

Post subject: Re: New to the Series/Audiobooks
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 1:10 am